Forty for Forty the start.

FORTY FOR FORTY THE START
So over the past year i have had some great achievements. I had finished cycling the distance of twice around the equator 50,000 miles on a static bike onboard the Red Funnel Isle of Wight ferries. Some i’m very proud of. I even managed to row from Bembridge to the Needles on the Isle of Wight. Being born with Cerebral Palsy something i’m very proud of. A lot of this has been in memory of my parents and my late brother Andrew. I had really wanted to raise awareness of Haemachromatosis and also Ovarian Cancer.

My good friend Greg Thurtle is helping me to blog the challenges.

Even with everything i have achieved there is something having a disability thats crossed my mind. What else could i have done? I have spent too much time worrying over the past two decades of my life and not enough time living. I also want to examine employers attitudes to taking on disabled people. So here i’m going to take forty different challenges. These are going to be a mixture of physical challenges, trying different jobs and a handful of things where theres a strong possibility that i might make an idiot of myself and hopefully make people smile. I have ten challenges so far. I would love to know if you have any ideas. Here is the ten in no particular order:

Iron Distance Triathlon.

Solo row around the Isle of Wight.

Try a pole fitness class and routine.

Try being a ferries’s captain for a day.

Become a ferries’s obso for a day.

Zoo keeper for a day.

Make a documentary on a paralympian past or present.

Put on a sporting event.

Get my static cycling mileage over 75,000 miles.

Compete in an Olympic 2012 venue.

Take part in a disability sports event.

Complete an obstacle course above the ground.

Try the first pier to beach zip wire.

Learn the ukulele and record it in a studio at Weldmar hospice.

Take part in a big music concert.

Trek around Mont Blanc.

Stand up paddle board between Boscombe and Bournemouth pier.

Prudential ride London as part of Seb Coe’s team.

Become a press photographer for a day at a rugby union game.

Abseil from an iconic landmark.

More will be added to the list….

10593103_724425467629294_5151693081311249398_n